Skip to main content

Webinars

Below are the webinars we'll be offering in the coming months. Please click on the ones that interest you for more information.

DatesEvent / Details

Tuesday, September 25, 2018
11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. EDT

Special Education 101 Webinar

This webinar provides a brief overview of the special education process with an emphasis on the parent's role in the process, dispute resolution options for parents, and the importance of building good relationships.

Tuesday, October 2, 2018
11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.CDT

Advocating at Manifestation Determinations

Manifestation Determination case conferences are specific to students in special education who violate school rules. Keith Butler, Staff Attorney for Indiana Disability Rights, will explain what a Manifestation Determination case conference is and under what circumstances it needs to occur. He will address how parents can advocate for their child during a Manifestation Determination conference.

Tuesday, October 23, 2018
11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. CDT
(2 hour training)

Bullying Prevention: Everyone's Responsibility-What Parents Can Do Webinar

This informational webinar is designed to review Indiana's definition of "bullying" for all students and school requirements for investigating and reporting bullying incidents. Types and dynamics of bullying will be discussed as well as how parents can report suspected bullying incidents and specific steps to help their children address this issue. Special consideration will be given to the bullying of students with disabilities with resources for ways bullying might be addressed through a student's IEP or Section 504 plan.