Educational Evaluations

A set of assessments used to collect information to determine a student's eligibility for special education.


Any evaluation done after a student is eligible for special education to determine if changes need to be made to the eligibility category or to special education and related services.The school must consider a reevalatuion for students with IEPs at leasst once every three years. The parents and school agree that there is no need for updated information so the reevaluation is not needed.


Students can be found eligible for special education in any of the following categories. A student must qualify in one of these areas in order to have access to related services such as occupational therapy (OT) or physical therapy (PT).

1.  Autism
2.  Blind or Low Vision
3.  Cognitive Disability (Mild, Moderate or Severe)
4.  Deaf or Hard of Hearing
5.  Deaf-Blind
6.  Developmental Delay (only up to age 8)
7.  Emotional Disability (full or part time)
8.  Language or Speech Impaired
9.  Multiple Disabilities
10. Other Health Impaired
11. Orthopedic Impairment
12. Specific Learning Disabilities
13. Traumatic Brain Injury


All students are required to participate in the state assessment system. The results of these tests and other local assessments may be included in the data used to develop an IEP.

Indiana Department of Education: Assessment